Undergraduate Program

Dr. Hiroshi Hiasa at Desk


Dr. Hiroshi Hiasa
Director of Undergraduate Studies
3-117 NHH

The Department of Pharmacology is committed to providing high quality teaching of the principles of pharmacology and the application of pharmacology to the biomedical sciences for undergraduate students. We also offer research opportunities and support student activities.

The Pharmacology Minor - Symbol Form

The Pharmacology minor (12-credit, free standing minor) is offered through the College of Biological Sciences (CBS).

To add the Pharmacology minor, please fill out the appropriate form:

Form for CBS Students

Form for non-CBS Students

What is pharmacology?

Pharmacology is a scientific discipline that studies how drugs affect biological systems. Pharmacology is the foundation of medicine, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing and many other healthcare professions.

Summer 2019 course

Register at OneStop

PHCL4100: Laboratory in Molecular Pharmacology

Fall 2019 courses

Register at OneStop

PHCL 2001:Basic Principles of Pharmacology: A Drug's Fantastic Voyage

  • Mon/Wed, 1:25 pm - 2:15 pm
  • 2 Credits
  • Course Director: Dr. Gregory Connell (conne018@umn.edu)

PHCL4001Mechanisms of Drug Action

PHCL4010: Current Research Topics in Pharmacology

  • Fri, 12:20 pm - 2:15 pm
  • 2 credits
  • Course Director: Dr. Hiroshi Hiasa (hiasa001@umn.edu)

PHCL4020: Chemotherapy: from current anticancer drugs to future cancer therapeutics

PHCL4343: Pharmacology of the Synapse - Hybrid Course!

  • Mon, 4:40 pm - 5:30 pm
  • 3 Credits
  • Course Directors: Dr. Anna Lee (amlee@umn.edu)

For questions, please contact:

Dr. Hiroshi Hiasa
Director of Undergraduate Studies
3-117 NHH

The pharmacology minor may help your career:

Pharmacology Club volunteer service

Pharmacology Club volunteers

Pharmacology Club members volunteered with Second Harvest Heart Land and packed 6,987 pounds of food for people in need in our community!


Research opportunities

Pharmacology is an interdisciplinary research discipline that employs scientific principles and experimental techniques of its own, as well as various other disciplines such as physiology, biochemistry, cell and molecular biology, microbiology, immunology, genetics, and structural biology.

Many undergraduate students are working in our research laboratories.

You may work in the laboratory as a volunteer or a paid undergraduate research assistant. You can also conduct a Direct Research or a UROP project.

PHCL4993: Directed Study 

PHCL4994: Directed Research 

Student activities

Pharmacology Club

Pharmacology Club is a CLP student group for undergraduate students who are interested in Pharmacology. Pharmacology is an important subject for all biomedical professionals. Our club is composed of students from diverse interests and various backgrounds, including, but not limited to, CBS, CLA, and CSE. We host two types of programs, one scientific presentation and one career development presentation. Pharmacology Club Facebook page

Find meetings and activities on the Pharmacology Club's Facebook page. 

‘PhUn’ Network

We are setting up a new professional networking organization, the ‘PhUn' (Pharmacology Undergraduate) network, for undergraduate students in the Pharmacology Undergraduate Program to exchange information on professional schools, graduate programs, and career paths in Pharmacology.

You can join the PhUn network if you add/declare the Pharmacology Minor, if you are a member of Pharmacology Club, if you work in a pharmacology professor’s laboratory, or if you have taken a pharmacology course(s) because you are interested in Pharmacology!

If you are interested in joining the executive board of either the Pharmacology Club of the PhUn network, contact the faculty advisor, Dr. Hiroshi Hiasa at hiasa001@umn.edu.

Pharmacology Club Executives

Pharmacology Club executives

From left to right: Caitlyn Calso (Events Coordinator), Dina Zheng (Treasurer), Alyssa Butterfield (Secretary), Alec Timp (Vice President), Vincent Zingale (President), and Alison Doyle (Co-Chair)